The 600 MW Masinloc Coal-Fired Thermal Power Plant


Masinloc Coal-Fired Thermal Power Plant is composed of 2 x 300 MW generating units (Masinloc Coal 1 and 2) and was commissioned in 1998. It is located along the shoreline of Masinloc in Zambales Province.

It was owned and operated by the National Power Corporation (NAPOCOR) since its commissioning date until it was successfully privatized and sold to the consortium of Masinloc Power Partners Co. Ltd. and Singapore-based AES Transpower Pte Ltd. through a competitive bidding on July 26, 2007. The AES Group bested the other bidders by their bid price of USD930 Million.

The 600 MW Masinloc Coal-Fired Thermal Power Plant

Prior to its successful privatization, it has already been put on bidding on December 1, 2004 when Ranhill Berhad/YNN Pacific won the bid to own the Plant for USD562 Million. Unfortunately, the YNN consortium failed to close the deal.

Google Map Location of Masinloc Plant

blog comments powered by Disqus

« The 1,216 MW Sual Coal-Fired Thermal Power Plant