Hydroelectric Power Plants in the Philippines


There are many hydro electric power plants in the Philippines dispersedly located in the various areas in the countrysides of Luzon Visayas and Mindanao. Almost all of the large hydro electric plants, which ranged from over 50 MW, are connected to the main transmission grid, while most of small (10 MW to 50 MW) and mini (101 kW to 10 MW) hydro plants are embedded to the local distribution system.

Below is a list of hydroelectric plants in the Philippines. Almost all of the large hydro plants are completely enumerated while some mini-hydro plants are not yet listed;

Plant Name Location Capacity
Current Owner Date Commissioned Remarks
Large Hydro          
Ambuklao Benguet 75 SN-Aboitiz Power 1956 decomissioned
Angat Bulacan 246 NPC 1967 - 1993 Dam Type
Bakun Ilocos Sur 70 Luzon Hydro Corp 2001 Run - off / NPC-IPP
Binga Benguet 100 SN-Aboitiz Power 1960 Dam Type
Casecnan Nueva Ecija 140 CalEnergy 2001 Run - off / NPC-IPP
Kalayaan Laguna 684.6 Jpower & Sumitomo 1982 / 2002-2004 Pump Storage/NPC-IPP
Magat Isabela 360 SN-Aboitiz Power 1983 Dam type
Pantabangan Nueva Ecija 100 First Gen Hydro Power Corp 1977 Dam Type
San Roque Pangasinan 340 Marubeni/Sithe 2003 Dam type / NPC-IPP
Agus 1 Lanao del Sur 80 NPC 1992-94  
Agus 2 Lanao del Sur 180 NPC 1979  
Agus 4 Lanao del Norte 158.1 NPC 1985  
Agus 5 Iligan City 55 NPC 1985  
Agus 6 Iligan City 200 NPC 1953-77  
Agus 7 Iligan City 54 NPC 1982-83  
Pulangi IV Bukidnon 255 NPC 1985-86 Dam Type
Small Hydro/Minihydro          
Caliraya Laguna 22.6 Jpower & Sumitomo 1942-50/ 2002 NPC - IPP
Botocan Laguna 20.8 Jpower & Sumitomo 1946-48/ 2003 NPC - IPP
Masiway Nueva Eciya 12 First Gen Hydro Power Corp 1980 Dam Type
Baligatan Isabela 6 NIA 1987 Feeding from Magat
Barit Camarines Sur 1.8 People's Energy Services 1957  
Palakpakin Laguna 0.56 Philpodeco 1933-38  
Balugbog Laguna 0.55 Philpodeco 1933-38  
Cawayan Sorsogon 0.4 Sorsogon Electric Cooperative II 2002  
Kalibato Laguna 0.075 Philpodeco 1933-38  
Magat A Isabela 1.44 ISELCO 1984 Run-off river
Magat B Isabela 1.08 ISELCO 1985 Run-off river
Loboc Bohol 1.2 Sta. Clara International Corporation 1957-67  
Amlan Negros Oriental 0.8 NPC 1962  
Bubunawan Bukidnon 7 Bubunawan Power Company 2001 offtaker: CEPALCO
Talomo Davao City 3.5 Hydro Electric Development Corp 1998  
Agusan Bukidnon 1.6 First Gen Bukidnon Power Corp 1957 Run-off

  • Ambuklao Power Plant is a "DANGEROUS" place to work because it has a 90 degree angle of the penstock.

  • jcmiras

    I cannot confirm whether the penstock angle is 90 degree's or not but whatever it is, the so called "danger" can be solved by proper engineering construction technique.

  • ron

    this page is very use full and help full, most specially to those who wanted to widen their knowledge about power plant...

  • jcmiras

    Thanks. I appreciate it!

blog comments powered by Disqus

« The 6MW Baligatan Hydroelectric Power Plant in Ramon, Isabela

Limay, Bataan Combined Cycle Gas Turbine Power Stations »